Upcoming DC movies and TV shows coming in 2022 and beyond

If you’re a fan of the heroes and villains within the DC universe, you will be pleased to know that there are a large number of movies and TV shows on the way. We don’t have any news of a new Batman or Superman movie but you have plenty of other projects to look forward to, many of which feature characters that haven’t been seen on the screen before.

Check out our list of upcoming DC releases below and then head over to our Marvel preview for more upcoming movies and series.

DC League Of Super-Pets (Movie) – July 29th 2022

When Superman and the other members of the Justice League are kidnapped, it’s up to their super pets to save the day! The starry voice cast of this animated feature includes Dwayne Johnson as Krypto the Superdog, Kevin Hart as Ace the Bat-Hound, Keanu Reeves as Batman, and John Krasinski as Superman.

The Sandman (Netflix TV Show) – August 5th 2022

Don’t sleep on this one! This upcoming fantasy drama is based on Neil Gaiman’s comic book and it has been much anticipated by fans of the source material. The series focuses on the title character (played by Tom Sturridge) who escapes from captivity after being mistakenly imprisoned by a secret society. Upon his release, the Sandman (also known as Dream) finds himself in the modern world where he sets off on a mission of revenge against those who captured him.

Gwendoline Christie, Vivienne Acheampong, Boyd Holbrook, and Charles Dance are among the cast of this magical series that will hopefully stick closely to Gaiman’s acclaimed work.

The Sandman trailer

Black Adam (Movie) – October 21st 2022

The movie has been in the works since the early 2000s and is finally making its way to the screen courtesy of Orphan director Jaume Collet-Serra. Dwayne Johnson takes on the role of Black Adam, the antihero that is supposedly as powerful as Superman, and the cast also includes Pierce Brosnan, Noah Centineo, and Sarah Shahi. In the movie, Black Adam joins up with the Justice Society of America, but when it comes to his skewed morality, it would appear that he’s not a great fit for the team.

Black Adam trailer

Shazam! Fury of the Gods (Movie) – December 21st, 2022

2019’s Shazam! was a welcome antidote to Zach Snyder’s accomplished but overly serious DC offerings. It was an often hilarious superhero flick that had a lot of heart to boot, with a superb Zachary Levi (Chuck) lighting up the screen as the title character.

Shazam! Fury Of The Gods sees the return of Levi and Asher Angel as Billy Batson and they are joined by their foster family who were turned into superheroes towards the end of the last movie. Mark Strong won’t be returning as the villainous Dr Thaddeus Sivana as Helen Mirren and Lucy Liu will be taking on the villain roles this time around as the daughters of the Greek titan Atlas.

Shazam! Fury Of The Gods trailer

Batgirl (HBO Max Movie) – December 2022 [Cancelled]

Leslie Grace (In The Heights) will star as Batgirl in an origin movie that will also star JK Simmons as her father, Commissioner James Gordon, and Michael Keaton as Batman. Plot details are scarce at this point but it will be set within the DCEU, unlike Matt Reeves’ The Batman, which took place within a separate universe. Brendan Fraser will also star in the movie as Firefly, the pyromaniac super-baddie that was last seen in the now-cancelled TV show, Gotham.

Update: 2nd August – According to multiple sources, Batgirl has been shelved and cancelled. Although it cost the studio $70 million to make, apparently test screeners for the film were so bad that the studio decided to cut its losses and run. Wow.

Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom (Movie) – March 17th 2023

James Wan returns to direct the second Aquaman movie and Jason Momoa will once again be making a splash as the titular hero. According to the official synopsis, “when an ancient power is unleashed, Aquaman must forge an uneasy alliance with an unlikely ally to protect Atlantis, and the world, from irreversible devastation.” Business as usual then for the wise-cracking King of Atlantis in his second solo adventure.

The Flash (Movie) – June 23 2023

The MCU recently gave us their version of the Multiverse but now it’s time for some universe-hopping adventures within the DCEU. Ezra Miller returns as the Scarlet Speedster and he will be joined by Ben Affleck and Michael Keaton who both reprise their roles as Batman.

The plot of the movie has seemingly been leaked online and from what has been said, there will be not one but three Barry Allens, all of which will be played by Ezra himself. Supergirl, Wonder Woman, and General Zod are also believed to be in the movie but until we get a proper plot synopsis (one that isn’t based on alleged leaks) we won’t take the word of the internet as gospel.

Blue Beetle (Movie) – August 18th 2023

Production has now wrapped on Blue Beetle, the first movie to feature Jaime Reyes (Xolo Maridueña), the third character to take on the mantle of the hero who attains a powerful suit of blue alien armour when a blue beetle scarab becomes attached to his spine. The movie, which has been directed by Angel Manuel Soto (Charm City Kings), is the first standalone DC adaptation to feature a Latin American superhero. Not a lot is known about it at this stage but more information is expected soon.

Wonder Woman 3 (Movie) – TBD

Patty Jenkins is set to direct her third Wonder Woman movie but currently, there is no information on what the plot might be or when the movie might go into production. According to star Gal Gadot, it will be set in the present, but that is all we know right now. If you’re a fan of the character, you can still take solace that another movie featuring the Amazonian warrior will appear at some point in the not-too-distant future.

Joker: Folie à Deux (Movie) – TBD

Do we really need another Joker movie? And does it have to be a musical? I don’t think so. As excellent as Todd Phillips’s movie was, it seemed to be more of a stand-alone picture than a franchise starter. Still, a sequel is on the way whether we like it or not and according to reports online, Lady Gaga will take on the role of Harley Quinn.

Joaquin Phoenix will reprise the role of Joker but the last thing I want to see on screen is a duet between Harley and Mister J. Of course, with the talented Phillips at the helm again, it might be that the movie will turn out to be better than I am expecting. But still… a musical? Really? Maybe the filmmakers are playing a practical joke on us!

Untitled Gotham PD/Arkham series (HBO Max TV Show) – TBD

We don’t have a title for this series yet and we don’t know much about it. Originally, it was going to be a police procedural spin-off of The Batman but according to that movie’s director Matt Reeves, the series will focus more on Arkham Asylum. We aren’t sure if this series will actually happen – the original writer dropped out due to creative differences – so you shouldn’t get your hopes up for this one.

Penguin (HBO Max TV Show) – 2023

Here’s another spinoff of The Batman and it stars Colin Farrell who resumes his villainous role from the movie. This one actually is happening and is due for release in 2023. We don’t have any plot details but it has been compared by those in the know to the Al Pacino movie Scarface. If this is the case, we hope Penguin says “Say hello to my little friends” and unleashes a colony of flightless birds into Gotham at some point during the series.

Rumoured projects

With the exception of the Arkham series, which may or may not be happening, the titles listed above will all be released at some point over the next couple of years. Several other projects are reportedly in development but very little is known about them.

These include Static Shock, which is based on the DC comic about a teenager with electricity-based powers, Gotham City Sirens, which is said to be a follow-on movie from Birds of Prey, and Amazons, a spin-off of Wonder Woman.

Other titles that have been rumoured over the years include Plastic Man, Nightwing, and Booster Gold. These may or may not come to fruition so don’t hold your breath waiting for news of a release date for these titles.

 

Which of these DC titles are you looking forward to the most? Let us know in the comments section below. 


You Can Check Out More Of Our TV Show Reviews Here!

Leave a comment