Halloween (Movie Franchise) Timeline


Out of all the slasher film series out there, Halloween is the one most fondly remembered alongside Scream. With the murderous Michael Myers at the helm and a whole slew of sequels after the initial film in 1978, Halloween may not reinvent the genre, but it has collectively grossed over $620 million at the box office worldwide.

From date order of whence they were released, below you’ll find a timeline of all the Halloween films in the franchise.

Feel free to click on the logos or text underneath each film to read our review and we’ll be sure to update this page frequently as more shows and films are announced!


1978 – Film

15 years after murdering his sister on Halloween, Michael Myers escapes from a mental hospital and returns to kill again.

1981 – Film

Sheriff Brackett and Dr. Loomis hunt for Michael Myers whgile a traumatized Laurie is rushed to hospital. However, Mysers is not far behind.

1982 – Film

Dr Daniel Challis seeks to uncover a plot by Silver Shamrock owner Conal Cochran.

1988 – Film

Michael Myers awakens on Halloween Eve and returns to Haddonfield to kill his 7-year-old niece. Can Dr. Loomis stop him?

1989 – Film

Set a year after the events of the previous film, the Shape returns to Haddonfield once again.

1995 – Film

Six years after Michael Myers last terrorized Haddonfield, he returns there in pursuit of his niece, Jamie Lloyd.

1998 – Film

Laurie Strode, now the dean of a Northern California private school, must battle the Shape one last time.

2002 – Film

Michael Myers returns to Haddonfield where he deals with the cast and crew of a reality show.

2007 – Film

Rob Zombie revives Michael Myers in this reboot attempt of the original 1978 film

2009 – Film

Michael prepares for another reunion with his sister while Laurie struggles to come to grips with his return.

2018 – Film

Laurie Strode confronts her long-time foe Michael Myers after a four decade hiatus.


2020 – Film

Halloween Kills

2021 – Film

Halloween Ends


Click Here To View More Timelines