Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power Episodes 1 & 2 Preview: Release Date, Time & Where To Watch

Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power Episodes 1 & 2

Set thousands of years before the events of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, the series is based (very, very loosely) on J.R.R. Tolkien’s history of Middle-earth.

This series is set during the second age, during a period of relative peace. We’re tackling the forging of the Rings of Power here, along with the rise of the Dark Lord Sauron and the fall of Númenor. These events take place over thousands of years but do note, they have been condensed drastically for this series.

Expect plenty of original characters not in the books to pop up, along with Galadriel (our protagonist) off on a big ol’ adventure to slay some orcs and find Sauron before it’s too late.

If you’ve been following this one over the weeks, you may be curious to find out when the next episode is releasing. Well, wonder no more!

Here is everything you need to know about the first 2 episodes of The Rings of Power, including the release date, time and where you can watch this.

Where Can I Watch Rings of Power?

Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power is available to stream on Amazon Prime Video. This is an exclusive original series, meaning this is the only place you’re going to be able to watch this show.

Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power Episodes 1 & 2 Release Date

The Rings of Power Episodes 1 & 2 will drop on Amazon Prime Thursday 1st September at approximately 6pm (PT) / 9pm (ET) in the US, Canada and Latin America

As this is likely to be a massive series in 2022, here’s where you can also watch this at the same time across the world.

Australia – September 2nd at 11 am
India – September 2nd at 6:30am
Japan – September 2nd at 10 am
New Zealand – September 2nd at 1pm
United Kingdom – September 2nd at 2am

Episodes 1 and 2 are longer than the rest of the chapters and are rumoured to be around 90 minutes long each. For the rest of the series, expect these to be around 60 minutes long.

The Rings of Power is also available with subtitles from its release. Plus, with its collaboration with IMDB, expect plenty of trivia, knowledge and extra info to be available throughout too.

How Many Episodes Will Rings of Power Have?

Season 1 of Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power has been commissioned for 8 episodes, so with that in mind, we have 6 more episodes to go after these two have aired. Expect Galadriel to continue her quest as the threat of Sauron grows.

Is There A Trailer For The Rings of Power Season 1?

There is indeed! You can find a trailer for The Rings of Power below.

What Happened In Episode 1?

We’ll have the whole episode covered with our handy (and lengthy) recap, detailing all the big plot points and discussing the chapter with an accompanying review. You can find that link below after release!

Read More: The Rings of Power – Season 1 Episode 1 Recap & Review (coming soon!)


What do you hope to see as the series marches toward its final few weeks? What’s been your favorite moment of The Rings of Power so far? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a comment