Kaiju No. 8 Season 1 Episode 1 Preview: Release Date, Time & Where To Watch

Kaiju No. 8

This brand-new anime series is making its grand debut on Crunchyroll. The story is set in a fictional version of Japan, where giant kaiju/monsters roam its areas. Moreover, this version of Japan has assigned a military unit called the Japan Defense Force to extinguish the threat.

In the middle of this ongoing struggle lies our protagonist, Kafka, a kaiju corpse cleaner, who wants the Japan Defense Force to recruit him. After something catastrophic occurs to Kafka during his daily routine, he must find ways to adjust to his new circumstances. 

If you’ve been following this anime, you may be curious to know when the first episode will be released. Well, wonder no more!

Kaiju No. 8 Episode 1 Release Date

The entire schedule for Kaiju No. 8 Season 1 so far is as follows:

  • Episode 1 – April 13th 2024

Episode 1 will be released on Saturday 13th April at 12:30am (JST) / 3:30pm (GMT) / 11:30am (ET) / 8:30am (PT). This is a weekend show, with 1 episode releasing each week on Saturdays.

Expect episode 1 to be roughly 25 minutes long, which is consistent with the timeframe for the rest of the show.

Where Can I Watch Kaiju No. 8?

Kaiju No. 8 is making its grand debut on Crunchyroll for global audiences. In Japan, it’ll be streaming exclusively on the TV Tokyo Network and others. Also, Crunchyroll has announced that they’ll live-stream each episode worldwide as soon as it airs in Japan.

Crunchyroll will be live-streaming each episode at 11:00pm (JST) / 2:00pm (GMT) / 10:00am (ET) / 7:00am (PT) on their platform. These streams will be in Japanese with English, Latin American Spanish, Portuguese, German, and French subtitles. For more information, click here.

If you miss the live broadcast, Crunchyroll promises the episode will be released at the given time provided in the previous section. 

How Many Episodes Will Kaiju No. 8 Have?

While no episode-count announcement has been shared (so far), many expect Kaiju No. 8 will have 12 episodes in total. With that in mind, 11 episodes will remain after this one. As long as the schedule doesn’t change, it should look something like this:

  • Episode 2 – April 20th
  • Episode 3 – April 27th
  • Episode 4 – May 4th
  • Episode 5 – May 11th 
  • Episode 6 – May 18th
  • Episode 7 – May 25th
  • Episode 8 – June 1st 
  • Episode 9 – June 8th
  • Episode 10 – June 15th
  • Episode 11 – June 22nd
  • Episode 12 – June 29th

Is There A Trailer for This Anime?

There is indeed! You can check out the brand-new trailer below:


What are the hopes for the Kaiju No. 8? Have you read the manga it’s based on? Let us know in the comments below. Also, check out our Kaiju No. 8 manga coverage by clicking here

Leave a comment