Anjunadeep 10 (Mixed by James Grant & Jody Wisternoff) – Album Review

Track Listing

Disc 1

Relic – Hiatus 
Belong – Lycoriscoris
Ocula – Immunity
Soft Light – BAILE
All The Time (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Rework) – Ole Biege 
There Is Peace Beyond (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Rework) – Nox Vahn feat. Mimi Page 
Things That Matter (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Remix) – Tomas Barfod feat. Louise Foo & Sharin Foo 
Still Dreaming – Luttrell 
You Are High – 16 Bit Lolitas
Ghost Voices (Lane 8 Remix) – Virtual Self 
Initial – CRi 
Swallow’s Nest – Modd & Hosini 
Sapporo – Spencer Brown & Qrion
Querencia – GRAZZE
H.A.L.O. – Nuage
Someone (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Remix) – boerd 
Ruskeala – Modd
Little Lights – Ben Böhmer

Disc 2

City Lights – Aiiso
Prospect – Nox Vahn & Marsh
Dapple – Jody Wisternoff & James Grant
Autumn’s Feathers (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Remix) – Jani R
Peace Of Mind – Savvas
Night Blooming Jasmine (Rodriguez Jr. Remix) – Eli & Fur
Programmer – Aiiso
Serena’s Garden – Nox Vahn & Marsh 
For A Moment – Jazz Do It
Heavy – Joseph Ashworth
Stay True – Dosem
Walls – Jack Lost
Nothing Like You – SØNIN vs. Yotto
A Self And A Mind – Fluida
Out Of Me – Luttrell 
In Memoriam – Ben Böhmer
Fld (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Edit) – Lane 8
Jura – Antic & i_cann
Tempest – Kidnap



Split across 2 disks and harmoniously mixed by James Grant and Jody Wisternoff, Anjunadeep 10 is the perfect way to cap off 10 volumes of deep and progressive sounds. Combining chillout, deep house and progressive trance, Anjunadeep has long-established itself as a mainstay in the Anjunafamily and a unique addition to this label.

At a run time of over 2 hours, the album works perfectly as a musical journey, beginning to end. It starts out peacefully, with the chilled Relic by Hiatus, easing you into the vibe of the album. It’s not until Soft Light by BAILE begins that the album subtly shifts from chillout to deep house and these tonal changes are so well placed that you barely notice the key changes or the jump from one sub-genre to the next.The rest of the disk builds slowly, acting as a foundation for the second disk to follow, combining light vocal tracks with more bass-driven songs.

The second disk changes the tones again too much more of a progressive trance feel, with the track Night Blooming Jasmine one of my personal favourites from the album. It also acts as a bridge to the more club-orientated tracks that follow this. The pumping bass lines and more synth-dominated songs never quite reach the climactic high you’re anticipating here but does end this beautifully composed musical journey with you warmed up and ready to play something harder.

Individually, the tracks work well and showcase some of the more diverse sounds on the label. Having recently reviewed Luttrell’s new album, a few of those tracks crop up here too along with a smattering of mainstay artists and collaborations that make up the Anjunadeep label. It’s ultimately the track selection and smart placement on the album that make this as good as it is. Much like Grum’s Worldwide album, there’s an intelligent understanding of the emotional highs and lows music can take you on and both James Grant and Jody Wisternoff capture it perfectly here.

I’ve long been a fan of the Anjuna label and these albums have been the predominant sound in the office most of the year round. Anjunadeep 10 is likely to be no exception. It may not be the best the label have put out but it is a very, very good addition to the collection and caps off 10 volumes of this uniquely stylized sound in the perfect way.

  • Verdict - 9/10

Leave a comment