10 Best Books Featuring Giants | TheReviewGeek Recommends

Giants are fascinating creatures of myth and legend. Mysterious, formidable and often possessing extraordinary strength, giants have become cherished characters that provide authors with a rich tapestry for storytelling. It is undeniable that their visual impact captures the imagination.

So what are some of the books that capture these larger-than-life entities? Here are a few book recommendations if you are searching for books with giants:

Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift

Gulliver’s Travel offers readers a fascinating journey through fantastic lands. When we think of this Swift classic, we think of the giant Gulliver being tied down by the Lilliputians from the land of Lilliput. But did you know that Gulliver actually came across giants in his ventures?

Gulliver’s Travels is a classic work of literature that has a section dedicated to giants. The novel follows the adventures of Lemuel Gulliver, a ship’s surgeon, who finds himself journeying to various remote and fantastical lands. In the segment known as Voyage to Brobdingnag, Gulliver travels to a fictional land called Broddingnag, which is inhabited by giants.

Under The Northern Sky By Leo Carew

Under The Northern Sky is a series of fantasy novels that include giants among the cast of characters. The books are set in a fictional world and follow the story of Roper, the Black Lord of the northern people, as he navigates conflicts and challenges faced by his kingdom.

The giants are known as Anakim, and are a race of beings who tower over humans and possess incredible strength and resilience. The Anakim play a significant role in the series, with some characters being born from these giant creatures and interacting with them in various ways.

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel is a science fiction novel that tells the story of Rose Franklin, who falls into a giant hole in the ground on her eleventh birthday and lands in the palm of a massive metal hand buried deep underground. The military quickly seizes the hand and assigns a team of scientific experts to examine this mysterious relic.

The book follows a unique narrative structure, consisting of interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, which adds depth and intrigue to the story. As the plot unfolds, readers discover that the giant hand is just one piece of a larger, ancient alien artifact known as Themis.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness is a novel that combines elements of fantasy and contemporary young adult fiction. While the book does not directly feature traditional giants, it does contain a giant creature known as the Monster, which is central to the story.

The novel follows the journey of Conor, a young boy dealing with his mother’s terminal illness. The Monster, who appears to Conor in the form of a giant humanoid tree, visits him at night and tells him stories. Through these stories, the Monster helps Conor cope with his fear, anger, and grief.

The Faithful and The Fallen Series by John Gwynne

The Faithful and The Fallen series is a four-book epic fantasy series that follows the conflict between good and evil in the Banished Lands. The series has elements of high fantasy, using folklore-inspired creations such as draigs, giants, and wyrms.

In the second book of the series, Valor, the protagonist faces the threat of roaming bands of giants as he searches for peace in the West. These giants, along with other agents of evil, hound the protagonist’s every step, adding an element of danger and grandeur to the narrative.

Galaxy of Thorns: Rise of the Empress by Bogdan Tabusca

Galaxy of Thorns: Rise of the Empress follows a giantess named Seirene. It is a fantasy novel set in the world of Artia, a realm plagued by war and suffering. The story revolves around the birth of a child, conceived in an unholy union, who is destined to become a mighty empress and bring the world under her control through mercy, kindness, and the use of both sword and fire. Plus the main character is a giantess, so extra points for that.

The Runewar Saga by J. D. Rosell

The Runewar Saga is an epic fantasy series, set in the land of Enea, which was once ruled by mythic faints. The series follows a world now fractured by conflicts among humans as total war looms on the horizon. It features harrowing adventures, grand-scale wars and awakening magic.

The series also incorporates elements of Norse mythology and showcases a richly imagined world with engaging characters and high-stakes conflicts.

Ogre, Ogre (Xanth) by Piers Anthony

Ogres are technically giants, right? Well, Ogre, Ogre, is the fifth book in the Xanth series. The novel follows the story of Smash, a half-ogre, who goes to see the Good Magician Humfrey to get his question answered, even though he doesn’t know what his question is. Along the way, he discovers that seven young girls have turned to him for guidance and safety.

In the Xanth universe, ogres are considered stupid creatures that hunt and eat young girls, and Smash uses his intelligence to outwit the other ogres he encounters throughout the story. Anthony’s Xanth series is known for its humorous take on fantasy fiction and Ogre Ogre is no different so why not give it a try?

A Plague of Giants by Kevin Hearne

A Plague of Giants is a fantasy novel set in a fantasy world called Teldwen. A Plague of Giants unfolds through multiple points of view, with each character demonstrating different magical abilities and playing an important role in the broader narrative.

The plot involves an invasion by a race of giants that threatens to annihilate the entire kingdom of Teldwen. The book also features shape-shifting bards, fire-wielding giants, and children who can speak to astonishing beasts, among other imaginative creatures and settings.

The Chronicle of Thomas Covenant by Stephen R. Donaldson

In Stephen R. Donaldson’s epic saga, The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, giants captivate readers with their larger-than-life presence and engaging plotlines.

The Chronicle of Thomas Covenant consists of ten novels that are divided into three trilogies. The series follows the life of Thomas Covenant, a leper shunned by society, as he becomes intertwined in a battle between good and evil. 

These are just ten books that have giants or explore the stories of giants within their pages. Of course, if you have your own recommendations, or if you have read some of these books and want to share your thoughts about them. Comment below and let us know!

 You can check out more book reviews here! 

Leave a comment