10 Books like ‘Final Fantasy VII’ | TheReviewGeek Recommends

10 Books like Final Fantasy VII

Final Fantasy VII is often regarded as one of the best RPGs of all time, and that’s in no small part thanks to the captivating narrative, which blends science and magic together into a potpourri of different influences

If you’re in the mood for more of these genre-blending fantasy adventures, fret not! We’ve gathered together 10 books to check out when you’ve finished playing Final Fantasy VII. Of course, if you feel we’ve missed any of your favourites, do comment below and let us know!

The Locked Tomb series by Tamsyn Muir

The series, beginning with “Gideon the Ninth,” is set in a decaying space empire, focusing on Gideon Nav, a skilled swordswoman. Gideon, desperate to escape her servitude, is pulled into a deadly trial by Harrow, a powerful necromancer and Gideon’s lifelong nemesis. As the two navigate a haunted gothic castle teeming with rival necromancers and their swordswomen, they unravel a story of a lost, imperial heir and a world-ending resurrection.

Much like Final Fantasy VII, the idea of a dying world and a world-threatening conflict, blended in with intricate magic, personal rivalries, and alliances mirror elements in the popular RPG.

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher

Humanity lives in enormous, tower-like spires and airships navigate the dangerous mists below. Captain Grimm, a privateer, alongside his motley crew find themselves at the center of a war. They align with a team of misfits, including a noblewoman, her eccentric aunt, and a group of magic-wielding warriors to confront an ancient evil.

The story here is immediately similar to Final Fantasy VII, but similarly there’s also the steampunk aesthetic, airship-based exploration, and the various team dynamics too. Not only that, but the story interweaves personal growth and teamwork into a broader conflict, similar to the game’s narrative structure.

Shattered Sea trilogy by Joe Abercrombis

In a harsh, Viking-inspired world, the trilogy follows the coming-of-age journey of Yarvi, the youngest son of a warlike king. When Yarvi’s father is murdered, he’s thrust into a position of power on the throne, leading him into a complex web of treachery, politics, and war. As a result, he’s forced to grow from a scholar into a leader.

Themes of personal growth, politics, betrayal, and the search for self-identity in the face of larger, world-threatening event certainly mirrors Cloud’s journey in Final Fantasy VII. There’s also the larger conflict too, and the second and third book add more point of view characters who ultimately become “companions” too.

The Vale series by Brian D. Anderson

The Vale series follows Drake Sharazi, a disgraced member of the Emperor’s guard. Despite his tarnished reputation, he’s chosen to protect a young girl. This girl, Jyn, possesses a dangerous magic unknown to their world, thrusting them into a web of political intrigue, ancient conflicts, and mysterious forces.

The relationship here is a little reminiscent of Cloud and Aerith’s, while themes of redemption and protection, not to mention exploring powerful, unknown magic. The magic in The Vale certainly draws some parallels to the Lifestream in FF7.

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Bear with us here but The Hunger Games actually has a lot of similarities to Final Fantasy VII. Both are set in a dystopian future, both films follow a disenchanted protagonist who wants to overthrow the government, and both see them become the reluctant leader of a terrorist organisation looking to destroy the established order.

For The Hunger Games, the main character is Katniss Everdeen, a teenager from the impoverished District 12. She volunteers to take her sister’s place in the brutal Hunger Games, a televised fight-to-the-death event imposed by the totalitarian regime of the Capitol.

As Katniss navigates the deadly games and becomes a symbol of hope, she sparks a revolution against the Capitol’s cruel regime. And like FF7, these themes of survival, sacrifice, and revolution echo key plot elements across both stories.

Coldfire Trilogy by CS Friedman

On the alien planet of Erna, humanity is under threat from the fae, a powerful and volatile force that manifests fears and desires into reality.

Gerald Tarrant is our protagonist, a seemingly immoral yet immensely powerful sorcerer. He forms an unlikely alliance with the devout warrior-priest Damien Vryce. Together, they’re forced to navigate treacherous politics, ancient evils, and personal dilemmas to ensure humanity’s survival.

The alien world and manifestation of emotions reflect the game’s unique setting and the concept of Materia, which materializes emotions into magic. The uneasy alliance mirrors the team-up of diverse characters against a common enemy in FF7 too.

The Arcane Ascension series by Andrew Rowe

Corin Cadence, a student at a magical academy, embarks on a quest to ascend the deadly towers of his world, in which completion grants magical powers. Corin isn’t just seeking power though, he’s also after answers regarding his brother’s disappearance within these towers. As Corin delves deeper, he uncovers dark secrets and faces lethal trials.

The one big similarity to FF7 comes from the concept of magic tied to physical locations. This is very similar to the Materia system, while Corin’s personal quest mirrors Cloud’s search for the truth too.

Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson is an excellent visionary when it comes to magic systems or fantasy worlds that feel like living, breathing places. The Mistborn series is a great example of that. 

The series is set in a dystopian world ruled by the immortal Lord Ruler. The story though focuses on a group of rebels led by the charismatic Kelsier, who plot a revolution. Among them is Vin, a street urchin with untapped magical abilities. Across the series, he undergoes personal growth and becomes a key player in their rebellion. 

The basic outline of the series feels very similar to that of Midgar in FF7, and the idea of rebels working to overthrow an oppressive regime parallels Avalanche’s struggle against Shinra.

The Blacktongue Thief by Christopher Beuhlman

In a world recovering from a war with goblins, Kinch Na Shannack, a member of the thieves’ guild, finds himself indebted and embarks on a perilous journey. Along the way, he joins forces with a knight called Galva, and their travels lead them across dangerous lands filled with monstrous creatures and magic.

This is a proper RPG adventure, filled with a perilous journey and a magical world ripe for exploration. Not only that, but there’s also themes of debt and obligation here, which reflect elements in Final Fantasy VII, especially Cloud’s backstory and journey as a mercenary.

Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames

Kings of the Wyld follows a band of retired mercenaries who were once renowned and are now living in peace. However, when one of their daughters is trapped in a city under siege by a monstrous horde, they band together for a rescue mission, venturing through the perilous Heartwyld forest.

The theme of camaraderie amidst peril mirrors the dynamic within Cloud’s party in Final Fantasy VII. Not only that but the journey itself, venturing through a treacherous wilderness, certainly feels like an RPG adventure!

 These are just a few books that will give you the vibe of Final Fantasy VII. What did you think of the list? Have you read any of these book before? Have you read something that’s a great fit but isn’t on the list? Comment below and let us know! 

You can read more of our book reviews and articles here! 

Leave a comment