10 Captivating Books Like Station Eleven | TheReviewGeek Recommends

If you’re a fan of Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven and are looking for more captivating dystopian novels to dive into, look no further. Station Eleven begins with a famous Hollywood actor who dies during a production of King Lear, and moments later, the world ends. The story moves back and forth in time, following a troupe travelling the wasteland. Here are 10 books like Station Eleven that share the same post-apocalyptic themes, gripping narratives, and thought-provoking explorations of humanity.


American War by Omad El Akkad

American War by Omad El Akkad is a haunting dystopian novel set in a future America torn apart by a second civil war. The story follows Sarat Chestnut, a young girl whose life is forever altered by the horrors of war. As she grows up in a world of violence and desperation, Sarat becomes the pawn in a larger political game.

 The novel explores themes of identity, loyalty, and the devastating consequences of blind ideology. With a lyrical writing style and a powerful narrative, American War paints a chilling portrait of a society torn apart by its own divisions.


Gibbon’s Decline and Fall by Sheri S. Tepper

Gibbon’s Decline and Fall by Sheri S. Tepper is a thought-provoking dystopian novel that takes place in a world ravaged by environmental degradation. The story revolves around Abasio, a member of a nomadic tribe, and Elvira, a scholar from a technologically advanced society. As they embark on a dangerous journey to decipher the secrets of the past, they uncover the devastating consequences of human’s reckless exploitation of the planet.

 Tepper explores themes of environmentalism and feminism. Gibbon’s Decline and Fall engages readers with its compelling characters and a thought-provoking vision of a world on the brink of collapse.


River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey

River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey is a thrilling alternative history novella set in the American South where hippopotamuses roam the rivers and bayous. The story follows an eclectic group of people hired to clear out feral hippos from a particularly dangerous stretch of water.

As they navigate the perilous waters, they confront unexpected dangers, deception, and escalating tensions. Gailey paints a vivid picture of a world reimagined with a significant ecological shift, offering a nuanced commentary on politics, power, and the environment. River of Teeth is a fast-paced, action-packed adventure that is both fun and thought-provoking.


Borne by Jeff VanderMeer

Borne by Jeff VanderMeer is a captivating and atmospheric science fiction novel set in a post-apocalyptic world. The story takes place in a city overrun by biotech experiments and strange creatures, where a scavenger named Rachel discovers and takes in a mysterious creature named Borne. As Rachel nurtures and raises Borne, their bond deepens, and she begins to uncover the creature’s hidden abilities and true nature.

VanderMeer weaves together themes of identity, love, and the ethics of scientific experimentation while immersing readers in a richly detailed and surreal world. Borne is a thought-provoking and imaginative exploration of humanity’s relationship with nature and its consequences.


MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood

MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood is a brilliant conclusion to the dystopian trilogy that began with Oryx and Crake and The Year of the Flood. In this gripping novel, Atwood continues the story of a world devastated by corporate greed and genetic engineering gone wrong. As the surviving characters band together to navigate the aftermath of a global catastrophe, Atwood delves deep into themes of survival, hope, and the power of storytelling.

With her masterful writing style and astute social commentary, Atwood explores the delicate balance between humanity and technology, raising compelling questions about the future of our planet and what it means to be human. MaddAddam is a thrilling and thought-provoking read that leaves a lasting impression.


Wool by Hugh Howey

Wool by Hugh Howey is a thrilling dystopian novel that explores the consequences of living in a claustrophobic and oppressive society. The story is set in a world where the only hope of survival is to live in a giant underground silo, where the inhabitants are subjected to strict social norms and harsh consequences for disobeying authority.

 As tensions mount and secrets are revealed, the main character Juliette sets out on a quest to discover the truth about their world and the outside dangers that threaten their existence. Howey delivers a richly detailed and immersive novel that blends action, suspense, and social commentary, making Wool a captivating and unforgettable read.


The Dog Stars by Peter Heller

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller is a post-apocalyptic novel that follows Hig, a pilot who lives in a world decimated by a flu pandemic and the aftermath of society’s collapse. With his only friend, a dog named Jasper, Hig flies his small plane in search of hope and connection in a world devoid of both.

Heller’s writing style is stunningly poetic, with vivid descriptions of the natural world that are both beautiful and haunting. The novel delves deep into themes of loneliness, love, and what it means to be human in a world stripped of its humanity. The Dog Stars is a moving and thought-provoking novel that will stay with readers long after the final page.


The Book of M by Peng Shepherd

The Book of M by Peng Shepherd is a captivating and imaginative debut novel that explores the power of memory and the unravelling of the world when people begin to lose theirs. In a world where individuals’ shadows disappear and with them, their memories, a group of survivors must journey to find a rumoured cure.

 Shepherd presents to us multiple storylines, crafting a thought-provoking narrative that explores the complexities of love, identity, and the lengths people will go to hold on to their pasts. With a beautiful writing style and a unique blend of magical realism and post-apocalyptic elements, The Book of M is a stunning and unforgettable novel.


All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai

All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai is a mind-bending science fiction novel that explores the idea of time travel and its consequences. The story follows Tom Barren, a man from a technologically advanced future who accidentally ends up in our present day, an alternate reality where his world’s utopia doesn’t exist.

With thought-provoking themes of fate, happiness, and the nature of reality, All Our Wrong Todays is a compelling and entertaining read for fans of both science fiction and literary fiction.


The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell is a sprawling and epic novel that spans decades, following the lives of several interconnected characters. At the centre of the story is Holly Sykes, whose journey takes her from a troubled adolescence to an old age full of revelations.

Mitchell mixes elements of fantasy, science fiction, and realism to create a fully realized world that feels both familiar and strange. With themes of mortality, love, and the human condition, The Bone Clocks is a beautifully written masterpiece that challenges the reader’s perceptions of time, existence and the interconnectedness of humanity.


These ten novels, along with Station Eleven, offer thought-provoking visions of a post-apocalyptic world and the resilience of the human spirit. Did you enjoy Station Eleven? Have you read any of these books like Station Eleven? Do you have your own recommendations? Comment below and let us know!


You can read our book reviews here!

Leave a comment